Matthew Reese (St. Hugh’s, St. Anne’s Colleges)

Matthew F. Reese is an American conductor, cellist, and tenor, active on both sides of the Atlantic. A recent recipient of Oxford’s prestigious conducting prize, Matthew is the Music Director of the Oxford University Philharmonia, as well as the emerging chamber orchestra, Consortium Novum. In 2016, he was named the University’s inaugural ‘Conducting Scholar’, assisting Maestro John Traill and the St. Anne’s Camerata. As an active theatre conductor, Matthew has recently conducted performances of Mozart’s Così fan tutte, Purcell’s Dioclesian, and, with the Spectra Ensemble, Thomas de Hartmann’s extraordinary Der Gelbe Klang. From 2015-2016, Matthew directed the Oxford University Wind Orchestra in a series of ambitious programmes including the Stravinsky Piano Concerto with Carson Becke.

Matthew has studied conducting under the Celibidache student, Angel Gil-Ordóñez (PostClassical, National Orchestra of Spain), under Paul Spicer (Finzi Singers), Akiko Fujimoto (San Antonio Symphony), and the Haydn scholar, James Armstrong (William & Mary). He has participated in masterclasses with Leon Botstein, Harold Farberman, Mark Gibson, Marios Papadopoulos, and Markand Thakar. His principal cello study occurred with Neal Cary (Principal, Richmond Symphony), a pupil of Leonard Rose, and with Judith Shiffers (Israel Chamber Orchestra), a student of Orlando Cole and Paul Tortelier.

Equally at home in the choir stalls, Matthew currently sings with the Choir of Queen’s College, Oxford, and as a Deputy Lay Clerk in the Choirs of Men & Boys, and Men & Girls at Washington National Cathedral. He also serves as Assistant Master of the Music at Pusey House, conducting one of Oxford’s premier mixed-voice chamber choirs.

Matthew earned his B.A. magna cum laude with High Honours in Music from America’s second-oldest university, The College of William & Mary (1693), and remains the founding Music Director Emeritus of the William & Mary Schola Cantorum. Matthew also holds an M.Phil in Musicology from the University of Oxford, where he is currently a doctoral candidate in music.

Past Conductors

Trinity 2015- Hilary 2016: John Warner, St Peter’s
Trinity 2014 – Hilary 2015: Jacob Swindells, Merton
Trinity 2013 – Hilary 2014: Cayenna Ponchione, Merton
Trinity 2012 – Hilary 2013: Harry Sever, Queen’s
Trinity 2011 – Hilary 2012: Benjamin Goodson, Hertford
Trinity 2010 – Hilary 2011: Matthew Lynch, St Hugh’s
Trinity 2009 – Hilary 2010: David O’Neill, Univ
Trinity 2008 – Hilary 2009: Craig Greene, Christ Church
Trinity 2007 – Hilary 2008: Jonathan Lo, St Peter’s
Trinity 2006 – Hilary 2007: Hugh Brunt, New
Trinity 2005 – Hilary 2006: Samuel Draper, Univ
Trinity 2004 – Hilary 2005: Paul Wingfield, Lincoln
Trinity 2003 – Hilary 2004: Philip Mann
Trinity 2002 – Hilary 2003: John Traill
Trinity 2001 – Hilary 2002: Tagbo Ilozue
Trinity 2000 – Hilary 2001: Chris Ward
Trinity 1999 – Hilary 2000: Rufus Frowde
Trinity 1998 – Hilary 1999: Tim Ribchester
Trinity 1997 – Hilary 1998: Pavel Kotla
Trinity 1996 – Hilary 1997: Laura Wakeley
Trinity 1995 – Hilary 1996: Jason Lai
Trinity 1994 – Hilary 1995: Paul Kildea
Trinity 1993 – Hilary 1994: Ashley Goodall
Trinity 1992 – Hilary 1993: Sarah Ioannides | OU Orchestra | OU Philharmonia | OU Sinfonietta | OU Chorus | OU Wind Orchestra | OU String Ensemble | OU Brass Band | OU Jazz Orchestra | OUCMS